Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Pakatan Harapan reaches agreement on seats in Northern Sarawak

PKR will be contesting in Limbang, Miri and Baram while DAP will be contesting in Lawas and Bintulu for the Northern Sarawak region.

Sarawak PKR chief Baru Bian in disclosing this said: “We are following the Pakatan Harapan agreement in the 13th General election and the status quo remains the same.

“We do have some aspiring candidates for the Limbang, Baram and Miri seats and we leave it to the party who to be field in these seats,” Baru said when contacted yesterday.

According to Baru, for the Miri seat it was announced during the recent dinner held at Eastwood Valley and Country Club that PKR would be contesting the seat under Pakatan Harapan.

“For the Lawas Parliament seat, we leave it to DAP to identify the potential candidate to contest against the incumbent Datu Henry Sum Agong from PBB.”

Commenting on the Limbang seat where Baru contested during the 13th General Election against Hasbi Habibollah of BN, he said he would let time decide whether he would contest or not in GE14.

“We look and see if the top leaders will nominate me or field a new candidate there,” he said further.
For the Baram seat, Roland Engan is again being tipped to be the PKR candidate to contest in the upcoming 14th General Election.

Meanwhile, incumbent Dr Teo Yu Keng has been seen moving in Miri and its surrounding areas.
He was seen giving assistance to fire victims and the less fortunate people in Miri.

In the 13th General election, Dr Teo won the seat for PKR defeating  Tan Sri Peter Chin Fah Kui (BN-SUPP) by a majority of 1, 992 votes.

No comments:

Post a Comment